My First Date with Visual Merchandising

vm-sketch

So how I got into VM? I didn’t. VM got into me.

Ever since when I was a kid I knew I loved fashion. Didn’t know much about it, but I remember watching Michael Jackson’s and Whitney Houston’s videos and I felt drawn to that. I had heard something about fashion design, but I was no good at that. So I just started doing things with colors. Creating all sorts of things, painting (as much as I knew how)… I remember one summer when my mom was redecorating the house, painting and all that. And I was so bored with the white walls in my room that I took my school painting colors and started sprinkling all over.

Fast forward to when I finished high school. I was staying with my dad and grandma, and I didn’t want him to support me financially anymore, so I started looking for jobs. My first real job was as a sales assistant for a local brand, with extremely cool and creative designs. I remember that all the stuff I have from them (even to this day), started being “in trend” years after they designed them. The owner of that brand was – still is – also a costume designer for a local movie production company. And I went from working in the store to also being a costume assistant for some of the movies they shot. My first “job” as a costume assistant was to decorate some hats in the 1800’s style. I know it doesn’t feel like much, but to me it was huge.

Anyways, back to the stores: that’s where I actually learned the basics of VM. Back then there was no such concept here, but I got to like it. Mixing colors, thinking about the light, customer flow, customer psychology, color flow, focal points and all that…I was falling in love with it. More than 15 years have passed since then and I’m still doing it. To a different level now, teaching others how to do it, teaching them about color theory, creating layouts, dealing with window décor, production, signage, etc., but still being in love with it. I guess that’s why I never worked for a mass brand until now – but never say never – because they have everything standardized (which is not a bad thing!) and there’s limited room for creativity. And I want to let people make some minor mistakes so that they can learn better, in a logical way, not do things automatically. I also prefer to have a closer relationship with the people, not bossing around, doing checklists and not considering the resources, the circumstances, the reality that we are working with human beings, not machines. I like to build trust and respect, to encourage them to speak out, to come with ideas of any kind.

color theory2

Hopefully I’ll get to do this for the rest of my life, under some form. It keeps me going constantly, constantly learning new things.

That’s all for this post. Take care!

C.

Header image thanks to Pinterest

First post image thanks to Pinterest

Color theory image thanks to Pinterest

Leave a Reply

